Just One Should Suffice

So many expectations . Such little time.  The whole world is blustering with great expectations. Perhaps one of the most pernicious is what I expect is the same that you expect. All tidily wrapped up in that ancient pearl, “Do Unto Others As You Would Have Them Do unto You.”

395703336-goldenruledountoothers

The seekers friend can expound ad nauseum on different cultures and different takes, but it all boils down to expectation.

One of my faves is:

  • “Never impose on others what you would not choose for yourself.” — Confucius[15](c. 500 BC)

I expect you to remember that.

I like this because it does not expect you to know and to do unto me what I want done unto me. If I want something I will ask. As my mother would so eloquently state, “I am not a mind reader.” But if I did ask for something she would quickly append that with, ” How can you ask for more than you are already getting, cause that is all you are getting and there ain’t no more. Selfish selfish child. Now go play in traffic and don’t come back until the street lights are on ( an ambiguous and inaccurate way to tell time in an urban setting at best) and not a minute later.” But she had her expectations too. The ones a child spends a lifetime learning about the hard way.

Well so much for my childhood scars. Not a path I expected to divert down in the posting.

Now to Confy. I guess since there are some wacky people out there who like to have some wacky things done to them I expect some clear communication between all participating parties with no fear of hurt feelings, reprimands, and or death sentences imposed for a mere suggestion of and communication of said wackiness. “Good luck with that.” Even if Confy didn’t say that I just did.

I close with a wise saying from the only POTUS never to be POTUS taken from his book of wise sayings:

bf019

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/prompts/expectation/

One thought on “Just One Should Suffice

Leave a Reply

